PRESS RELEASE – By Rounder Records

Burlington, MA – “Hellos, Goodbyes & Butterflies” is the fourth album from songwriter, vocalist, and multi-instrumentalist, Donna Hughes. Due October 12 as an Amazon On Demand and digital release, the album was produced by the legendary J.D. Crowe and features Randy Kohrs and Blue Highway’s Rob Ickes on Dobro.

Hellos, Goodbyes & Butterflies includes 15 songs which take you through a whole series of balancing acts, making for some compelling musical moments. There is the contrast of Hughes’ singer/songwriter flair with the grounding of bluegrass; the blend of haunting original melodies with traditional forms like the waltz of “Last Thing I Need”; the interior focus of songs like “Nothing Easy” contrasting with the story-telling of “Black Beard” and “Jesse”; and the hard ‘grass drive of “Losing You” balanced with the country strains of “Mid-Life Crisis,” to name a few.

Having had her work recorded by all-stars such as Alison Krauss and the Seldom Scene, Hughes is no stranger to country & bluegrass but this album defies simple categorization. It is distinctively, uniquely hers.

Hughes has just signed with Regal Entertainment for festival and fair bookings and her 2011 tour will be announced soon.

Hellos, Goodbyes & Butterflies” Track Listing

  1. Cut Your Losses
  2. Nothing Easy
  3. Saying Hello
  4. Dr. Jekyl
  5. Butterfly
  6. Jesse
  7. Last Thing I Need
  8. Losing You
  9. God Don’t Make Mistakes
  10. Mid-life Crisis
  11. Autumn Leaves
  12. If I Had You
  13. Blackbeard
  14. Longing For You
  15. Better Apart